New Members to Hydrographic Services Review Panel - 19/06/2012

Four new members have been appointed to the Hydrographic Services Review Panel by NOAA Administrator Jane Lubchenco, PhD. The Hydrographic Services Review Panel is a federal advisory committee comprising maritime officials and industry executives that provide independent counsel and strategic recommendations to NOAA on improving ocean and coastal navigation products, information, data and services. The new panel members were sworn in at the panel meeting in May.

The panel provides advice and recommendations on hydrographic surveying, nautical charting, water level and current measurements, geodetic measurements, shoreline mapping, and technologies relating to operations, research and development, and dissemination of data.

New members of the panel are: Rear Adm. Kenneth E. Barbor, U.S. Navy (ret.), University of Southern Mississippi ; Capt. Deborah D. Dempsey, Columbia River Bar Pilots; Rear Adm. Evelyn Fields, NOAA Corps (ret.) and Dr. Frank L. Kudrna, Kudrna & Associates, Ltd.

The new members join these current members: Lawson Brigham, Ph.D., University of Alaska – Fairbanks; Stephen Carmel, Maersk Line Limited; Jeffrey Carothers, Fugro Consultants; Michele Dionne, Ph.D., Wells National Estuarine Research Reserve ; William Hanson, Great Lakes Dredge & Dock Company; David A. Jay, Ph.D., Portland State University; Gary A. Jeffress, Ph.D., Conrad Blucher Institute (reappointed); Joyce Miller, Ph.D., University of Hawaii; Scott Perkins, T-Kartor USA (HSRP Vice Chair); Susan Shingledecker, Boat U.S. and Matthew Wellslager, South Carolina Geodetic Survey (HSRP Chair).

The Hydrographic Services Review Panel was established in 2003 as directed by the Hydrographic Services Improvement Act of 2002. The panel functions in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act and advises the NOAA administrator on matters related to NOAA’s hydrographic and navigation services.

Last updated: 27/02/2018