## States Parties to Law of Sea Convention Elect Continental Shelf Commission

The States parties to the Convention on the Law of the Sea today elected Fernando Manuel Maia Pimentel of Portugal to serve in his personal capacity for a five-year term beginning Monday on the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf, thereby completing the panel of 21 experts to examine submissions by coastal States for the delineation of the continental shelf.

As the seventeenth meeting of States parties since the Treaty entered force in 1994 moved into its second day, experts in the fields of geology, geophysics, hydrography and/or geodesy, from Germany, Portugal and the United Kingdom, competed for the remaining seat on the Commission, following four rounds of voting yesterday and three more rounds today from the Group of Western European and Other States. Twenty seats were filled on 18<sup>th</sup> June 2007 from the other regional groups following several secret ballots.

The purpose of the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf is to facilitate implementation of the Convention with respect to delineation of the outer limits of the continental shelf beyond 200 nautical miles from the baselines from which the breadth of the territorial sea is measured. Under the Convention, a coastal State establishes the outer limits of its continental shelf where it extends beyond 200 miles on the basis of the Commission's recommendations, which are based on the data submitted by those States concerning their claims.

The composition of the Commission for the next term of office beginning on 16 June and ending on 15 June 2012 is as follows:

- Alexandre Tagore Medeiros de Albuquerque of Brazil
- · Osvaldo Pedro Astiz of Argentina
- · Lawrence Folajimi Awosika of Nigeria
- Harald Brekke of Norway
- Galo Carrera Hurtado of Mexico
- Francis L. Charles of Trinidad and Tobago
- Peter F. Croker of Ireland
- Indurlall Fagoonee of Mauritius
- Mihai Silviu German of Romania
- Abu Bakar Jaafar of Malaysia
- George Jaoshvili of Georgia
- Emmanuel Kalngui of Cameroon
- Yuri Borisovitch Kazmin of Russian Federation
- Lu Wenzheng of China
- Fernando Manuel Maia Pimentel of Portugal
- Isaac Owusu Oduro of Ghana
- Park Yong-ahn of Republic of Korea
- Sivaramakrishnan Rajan of India
- Michael Anselme Marc Rosette of Seychelles
- Philip Alexander Symonds of Australia
- Kensaku Tamaki of Japan