US Law of the Sea Mapping

The United States is conducting multi-beam surveys of the US continental margins where a potential exists for a claim under United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) Article 76. The University of New Hampshire¡¯s Center for Coastal and Ocean Mapping-Joint Hydrographic Center is directing the surveys as part of its National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)-sponsored research programme. To date, two areas in the Bering Sea, two areas in the Arctic Ocean and a large portion of the US Atlantic continental margin have been mapped. The Center for Coastal and Ocean Mapping/Joint Hydrographic Center, University of New... (read more)
2008-01-01 01:00:00

IHO-IAG Advisory Board on the Law of the Sea

The Advisory Board on the Law of the Sea (ABLOS) is an inter-organisational group of experts in geodesy, hydrography, law of the sea and related disciplines. It was formed as a result of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS), which was signed at Montego Bay, Jamaica, on 10 December 1982 and entered into force on 16 November 1994. The signing of UNCLOS marked the conclusion of the Third United Nations Conference on Law of the Sea, which had lasted from 1973 to 1982. In 1984, an IHO Working Group was formed to prepare a special... (read more)
2014-02-27 03:22:18

Robert Van De Poll International Manager, Law Of The Sea

Fugro Pelagos has appointed Mr. Robert van de Poll to the position of International Manager, Law of the Sea. Mr. van de Poll is an internationally recognized expert on the Law of the Sea (LOS), especially Article 76. He has written 17 professional papers on the subject. His responsibilities will include management of the Fugro business supporting UNCLOS based opportunities, including desktop studies, Maritime Boundary evaluations, and related research for applications to UNCLOS and EEZ projects, including surveys and data analyses. During his 15-year tenure at CARIS (Universal Systems Ltd.), he was involved in every aspect of the design, development... (read more)
2006-07-07 12:00:00

Mr Cachapuz de Medeiros Member of the Tribunal of the Law of the Sea

Mr Antonio Cachapuz de Medeiros was elected on 15 January 2016 at a Special Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea in New York. The meeting was held to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Judge Vicente Marotta Range (Brazil) on 18 May 2015. Mr Cachapuz de Medeiros will hold office for the remainder of his predecessor's nine-year term, which expires on 30 September 2017. Mr Cachapuz de Medeiros has been legal advisor to the Ministry of External Relations of Brazil since 1998, heading diplomatic delegations to over 40 international... (read more)
2016-01-20 09:10:52

Seven Members of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea Elected

On Wednesday 14 June 2017, seven members of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea were elected at the 27th Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, in session at the United Nations Headquarters in New York, USA. The judges were elected for a term of nine years commencing on 1 October 2017. The States Parties re-elected the following two members: Judge Boualem Bouguetaia (Algeria) and Judge José Luís Jesus (Cabo Verde). In addition, the meeting elected Mr Oscar Cabello Sarubbi (Paraguay), Ms Neeru Chadha (India), Mr Kriangsak Kittichaisaree (Thailand),... (read more)
2017-06-15 03:28:36

20th Anniversary of International Tribunal for The Law of the Sea

The International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea is celebrating its 20th anniversary from 5 to 7 October 2016 with two main events. The first, an international symposium entitled 'The Contribution of the Tribunal to the Rule of Law', will be held on 5 and 6 October at the seat of the Tribunal. On 7 October, a solemn ceremony will be held in Hamburg City Hall in the presence of the secretary general of the United Nations, Mr Ban Ki-Moon, and the president of the Federal Republic of Germany, Mr Joachim Gauck. The symposium programme, which is available on... (read more)
2016-09-29 11:36:00

HELCOM Contributes to Report on Oceans and the Law of the Sea

HELCOM, Finland, contributes an update each year to the report of the United Nations Secretary-General on oceans and the law of the sea. The contribution from 30 June 2015 provides an overview of the organisation’s activities in 2014-15, with the more specific angle to report on the implementation to the previous UN General Assembly Resolution dated on 29 December 2014. The next full report will be considered by the General Assembly in its 70th session in September 2015. The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UN/ECE) has been an observer of HELCOM since 1980 and has expressed a wish to... (read more)
2015-07-02 10:53:45

The Alchemy of the Sea

The Search for the Young Experts to Plug the Increasing Skills Gap
Recruitment and retention issues due to effects of the boom and bust of the hydrocarbon industry are still rocking the profession. The author suggests that the dawn of carbon-neutral energy generation will greatly benefit offshore survey. A fresh re-envisioning of the profession and those that it serves could produce a substantial rise in recruitment. As I walk my dog on a very windy Norfolk beach and look out at the North Sea I am only too aware that the wealth and prosperity these waters have brought to the United Kingdom in the last three decades is now coming to an... (read more)
2007-02-02 12:00:00

Ninth Regional Law of the Sea Workshop Held in Mexico City

The ninth regional workshop of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea has drawn to a successful close in Mexico City. The workshop was entitled ‘The role of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea in the settlement of disputes relating to the law of the sea in the Caribbean region’. The two-day programme included sessions on topics such as proceedings on the merits and incidental proceedings, advisory opinions, prompt release of vessels and crews and provisional measures, given by the President of the Tribunal, vice-president Albert Hoffmann (South Africa), Judge Anthony Lucky (Trinidad and Tobago)... (read more)
2013-06-10 10:26:51
Search Filter