Applications For The Australasian Hydrographic Society Award 2020 Are Open - 21/01/2020

The Australasian Hydrographic Society (AHS) has announced that applications are now being received for the Society’s 2020 Education Award.  The $3,500AUD award is provided to a student whose study - in the opinion of the Award Panel - best promotes hydrography and related sciences and best recognises the efforts of the student involved in the study of hydrography and related sciences. Applications are open from 1 Feb to 31 March annually.

The Australasian Hydrographic Society (AHS) is a learned non-profit society that promotes the science of hydrography and marine exploration. The Society comprises members who are practising or retired hydrographic surveyors, and those that have an interest in hydrography.

Science of Hydrography

The Society has a long-established fund that provides an annual award to a deserving student who, in the opinion of the Society, is researching a subject within the science of hydrography, or very closely related area, that will eventually be of lasting benefit to the science. The award is open to students studying, or proposing to study, within a broad range of maritime disciplines including, but not necessarily limited to, the following:

  • Hydrography - Nautical Charting - Surveying at Sea  Coastal Studies - Coastal Zone Management
  • Offshore Resource Surveys and Management
  • Port Development and Maritime Engineering
  • Law of the Sea
  • Marine Cartography
  • Environmental Studies
  • Marine Geology and Geophysics

What is Hydrography?

The Panel, in selecting suitable applicants, uses the following official definition of hydrography from the International Hydrographic Organization (IHO) in their determination:
“Hydrography is the branch of applied sciences which deals with the measurement and description of the physical features of oceans, seas, coastal areas, lakes and rivers, as well as with the prediction of their change over time, for the primary purpose of safety of navigation and in support of all other maritime activities, including economic development, security and defence, scientific research, and environmental protection."

Applications for grants under the AHS Education Award will be accepted only from nationals and persons with official permanent residential status in the following nations:
Australia, New Zealand, East Timor, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu, whether the applicant is studying at home or abroad.

More info and application form:

Last updated: 27/02/2021