IHO Celebrates 100 Years

IHO Celebrates 100 Years

The IHO, the International Hydrographic Organization, will celebrate its 100th anniversary on Monday 21 June. Established in 1921, it coordinates the activities of national hydrographic offices and promotes uniformity in nautical charts and documents. The centennial celebrations will include speeches from distinguished guests and a webinar on the future of hydrography and the implications for the work of the IHO, both of which will be broadcast live.

The reception at the IHO Secretariat is scheduled for 10:00 to 11:30 CEST on Monday 21 June 2021 and will be broadcast live via the IHO YouTube channel.

In addition to a speech by the Secretary-General Dr Mathias Jonas, the following participants have confirmed that they will address the local audience and remote spectators:

  • HSH Prince Albert II of Monaco
  • Laurent Kerléguer, Director General of the French Hydrographic and Oceanographic Service (Shom)
  • HEM Peter Thomson, UN Secretary-General’s Special Envoy for the Ocean

 Webinar on the Future of Hydrography

The webinar will start at 14:00 CEST and will include a panel discussion focused on the future of hydrography and implications for the work of the IHO.

Click here to register for the webinar.

The panellists represent a wide range of IHO stakeholders, namely:

  • Dr Geneviève Béchard (Canada) – National Hydrographer of Canada and Chair of the IHO Council
  • Bjørn Jalving (Norway) – Senior Vice President Technology at Kongsberg
  • Emma Wise (United Kingdom) – Sales Director at SevenCs/ChartWorld International
  • Dr Peter Heffernan (Ireland) – Ocean Ambassador, former CEO Marine Institute Ireland

The webinar will include an overview of the past 100 years of international collaboration in hydrography as well as consider the future of hydrography, with implications for a data-centric approach. There will also be interventions from partner organizations, including:

  • Dr Valdimir Ryabinin, IOC UNESCO Executive-Secretary
  • HEM Kitack Lim, IMO Secretary-General
  • Petteri Taalas, WMO Secretary-General
  • HEM Michael Lodge, ISA Secretary-General
  • Frances Baskerville, Secretary-General CIRM
  • Francis Zachariae, Secretary-General IALA